Fine Arts Overview

 

The Arts are one of the four pillars at Calvary, and is so valued that two credits in Fine Arts are required for graduation. The mission of the Fine Arts Department at Calvary Christian High School is to prepare students to use their gifts and talents for God’s glory. Because each student is uniquely gifted by God in areas of creativity, we desire to challenge and equip them to be their best for Him:

In the classroom Calvary students have several options to choose from in the classroom to fulfill their graduation requirements in the areas of Visual Arts, Music, Drama, Worship, Yearbook, Creative Writing, Speech, and Humanities and Culinary. Additionally, our Fine Arts Faculty offers a wealth of experience to our students who are interested in pursuing a major or minor in the arts in college.  With their diverse background, they are able to assist our students not only in the audition process, but also in understanding the differences in the educational setting, since their own degrees vary from small private colleges (both Christian and secular) to a large State University and a Music Conservatory.

Outside the classroom Students are given the opportunity to be a part of the Worship Team that serves in Chapel every week, the Warrior Marching Band, the Fall Drama and Spring Musical, and the Christmas Concert. The best of our Visual Art students’ work is displayed in our Ruach Art Gallery throughout the year. Our students have the opportunity to participate in several Festivals and Competitions such as the ACSI Art, Concert Band, Choral and Creative Writing Festivals, All State (Band and Vocal) and the ITS District Competition just to name a few. Calvary’s Fine Arts Honor Society, the International Thespian Society (ITS) and the Film Society are two extra-curricular clubs that encourage our students to think about being Christ-centered Culture Makers in their world.

In the community. Through special concerts at partner schools and adult senior living facilities, middle school summer camps and featuring the work of middle school art students in North Pinellas County by hosting the NPCMSAF Art Exhibit and Reception, we serve our local community through the arts.

SOLI DEO GLORIA!

month: year: view: iCal: iCalendar Format RSS: RSS Feed
Current
Month
OR All
Events
OR Date Range
From: Today Date: (m/d/yyyy)
To: Today Date: (m/d/yyyy)
Mon, Aug 24, 2015 - Fri, Jun 3, 2016
Date Time Event Location
Sep 25, 2015 - Fri
09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
 
Oct 2, 2015 - Fri
09:10 AM - 02:55 PM
 
Oct 3, 2015 - Sat
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
 
Oct 9, 2015 - Fri
08:00 AM - 11:00 PM
 
Oct 10, 2015 - Sat
08:00 AM - 11:00 PM
 
Oct 24, 2015 - Sat
 
 
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
 
Nov 7, 2015 - Sat
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
 
Nov 9, 2015 - Mon
06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Ruach Art Gallery
Nov 19, 2015 - Thu
 
 
Nov 20, 2015 - Fri
 
 
Nov 21, 2015 - Sat
09:00 AM - 10:00 PM
 
Nov 30, 2015 - Mon
03:00 PM - 06:00 PM
 
Dec 1, 2015 - Tue
03:00 PM - 06:00 PM
 
Dec 2, 2015 - Wed
03:00 PM - 06:00 PM
 
Dec 3, 2015 - Thu
03:00 PM - 06:00 PM
 
Dec 15, 2015 - Tue
11:30 AM - 02:55 PM
 
Mar 3, 2016 - Thu
08:00 AM - 11:00 AM
 
09:00 AM - 02:00 PM
 
Mar 4, 2016 - Fri
08:00 AM - 02:00 PM
 
08:00 AM - 09:00 AM
 
Mar 18, 2016 - Fri
10:45 AM - 11:25 AM
 
Apr 15, 2016 - Fri
08:00 AM - 08:00 AM
 
Apr 23, 2016 - Sat
08:00 AM - 12:00 PM
 
May 13, 2016 - Fri
10:45 AM - 11:25 AM
Worship Center
May 20, 2016 - Fri
10:45 AM - 11:25 AM
Worship Center
Printable View